REPUBLIC COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES MONDAY, DECEMBER 21, 2020

The Republic County Commission met in regular session on Monday, December 21, 2020, at 8:00 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse. Commissioners present were Melvin Jeardoe and Edwin Splichal. Commissioner Marvin Bergstrom was absent. Clerk Kathleen Marsicek was present to record the minutes. Deb Hadachek from the Belleville Telescope and commissioner-elect Doug Garman observed the meeting.

The meeting was called to order and attendees pledged allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

Pastor Robert Frasier, Belleville Presbyterian Church, offered Morning Prayer.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve the agenda. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the December 14, 2020 minutes. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Accounts payable vouchers were approved in the amount of \$71,562.62 for regular accounts and SPARK funds were approved for \$10,441.98.

Raymond Raney and Danielle Swanson presented an update regarding purchases with SPARK funding for Republic County and pandemic numbers.

Raney announced that the SPARK committee is reviewing all requests for the use of the SPARK funds prior to the December 31, 2020. With the current requests, there will not be enough funds for every request so the committee is prioritizing the needs. There has been a large supply of personal protective equipment delivered to the county and Raney is planning a distribution around the county. There were seven businesses that applied for the Grant offered by the SPARK committee and the county is trying to arrange funds to assist each business.

Swanson announced that as of December 18, there has been 531 positive coronavirus cases in Republic County with only 58 currently active.

Discussion was held about changing Republic County's recommended quarantine days to the new CDC recommendations or remaining with the current number of quarantine days.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to change to the new CDC guidelines for quarantine and to review the county mask mandate at the Monday December 28, 2020 meeting. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Al Uphoff, presented a sample of where he would like to insert the memorial plaque to honor those soldiers whom died in service. The commissioners granted permission for Uphoff to proceed with the project.

Susan Aaron, Solid Waste administrative assistant, suggested that the commission consider remodeling her office area by returning it to its original historical state. She also suggested that the county apply for the grant available for buildings on the National Historical register to assist with her office, the front steps and window sealing.

Sheriff Ron Blad and Sheriff-elect David Cox presented a policy to include a night shift differential for the sheriff deputies. The commission will request that the county attorney review the policy before any action will be taken.

Cox announced they are interviewing candidates for deputy.

At 10:15 a.m., Commissioner Jeardoe opened the amended county budget hearing to increase the spending authority for two funds. Increase the Special Ambulance Equipment fund from \$150,514 to \$195,000 and increase the Hospital Sales Tax from \$650,000 to \$780,000.

Hearing no objections, Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve the amended budgets. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Raney returned to meeting.

At 10:20 a.m., Commissioner Splichal made a motion to recess into executive session for 5 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel job performance and wage. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, commissioner-elect Garman, Raney and Clerk Marsicek.

The board reconvened at 10:25 a.m., taking no action.

Cindy Coons, County Treasurer, presented employee evaluations and announced that her department has been working diligently to process all payments received by mail and the drop box.

Terry Lambert was contacted by phone to review the Solid Waste Disposal Interlocal agreement with Cloud County for 2021.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve the Solid Waste agreement with the correction of striking that Republic County's share of the fuel compensation cost. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve Resolution No. 2020-47, listing dates of the 2021 commission meetings, payroll dates, warrants paid and official holidays in Republic County. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve Resolution No. 2020-48, General Accounting Practice (GAP) for 2021. Commissioner Jeardoe seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Jeff Beikmann, EMS Director, presented employee evaluations and announced that the EMS department had received a very nice memorial gift.

At 11:30 a.m., Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to recess into executive session for 20 minutes to discuss non-elected personnel employee evaluations and wage changes for 2021. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried. Attending the session were the commissioners, commissioner-elect Garman and Clerk Marsicek. Commissioner Splichal requested an additional 3 extensions of 20 minutes, 20 minutes and 15 minutes.

The board reconvened at 12:45 p.m. Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to allow up to a three (3) per cent raise but no less than two (2) per cent for all departments except Health and EMS. Health and EMS will be finalized on Monday, December 28 along with Elected Officials. Employees that haven't completed six (6) months of employment will not be eligible for a raise. All non-elected department heads will receive \$1,200 except for R& B Administrator who will receive it after completing six (6) months of employment. Commission Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 1:25 p.m. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The next regular meeting will be on Monday, December 28, 2020, beginning at 8:30 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse.

ATTEST: _____ Kathleen L. Marsicek, Republic County Clerk APPROVED: ____

Melvin Jeardoe – Chair

Edwin Splichal – Member

Marvin Bergstrom – Member