REPUBLIC COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS' MINUTES MONDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2021

The Republic County Commission met in regular session on Monday, November 8, 2021, at 8:00 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse. Commissioners present were Melvin Jeardoe, Edwin Splichal and Doug Garman. Clerk Kathleen Marsicek was present to record the minutes. Deb Hadachek from Belleville Telescope observed most of the meeting.

The meeting was called to order and attendees pledged allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

Pastor Jacob Rice, Central Christian Church of Belleville, offered Morning Prayer.

Commissioner Splichal made a motion to approve the agenda. Commissioner Garman seconded the motion. Commissioner Jeardoe made it unanimous.

Commissioner Garman made a motion to approve the November 1, 2021 minutes. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Commissioner Jeardoe made it unanimous.

Accounts payable vouchers were approved in the amount of \$155,340.34.

Mary Simmons, Deputy Election Clerk, presented 6 provisional ballots for canvass from the City/School Election. Simmons explained that 5 ballots are not eligible to be counted because the voters were not registered in Republic county prior to October 12, 2021. (Deadline for registering for the November election.) The other ballot should be accepted because the voter did not receive their original ballot by mail as requested.

Levi Whitley and Jeff Beikmann, EMS, reported that they have offered a part time position to a candidate pending preemployment testing. Whitley also shared that 3 EMTs will take advanced training and 6 EMTs will participate in a driving training.

Beikmann is applying for grants to fund an Auto Pulse device. Commissioner Splichal recommended that they also apply for funds through the Dane Hansen Foundation.

Whitley announced that the EMS has responded to 525 calls this year compared to 419 calls during 2020 at this time of year. Whitley also plans to replace one of the ambulances in 2023 if funds are available.

Luke Mahin, Republic County Economic Development (RCED), presented for approval an application to demolish a home and rebuild on the same location through the RCED special beautification program. So far, the program has assisted with 10 homes being painted and one application to assist with empty nest relocation.

Jimmie Blecha, Honorable Mayor of Munden, reported that a new sidewalk is being installed in the city park. Blecha also invited all person to attend the Christmas program at the Munden Community center on December 9.

Ken Robbins, Nathan Craig, Max Wickstrum and Stacie Bowen presented updates from the county shop area.

- Robbins presented the weekly community concerns and projects completed report.
- Robbins is scheduling the student intern for next Monday, November 15.
- Robbins announced that the road and bridge employees will return to 8-hour work days starting November 22.
- Robbins asked permission to continue to lease a skid-steer loader after the expiration of the current lease in December. Permission was granted but suggested that it be leased in Republic County.
- Robbins requested an update in regards to scheduling a meeting with Commissioner Keith Bramhall from Marshall County about issues they worked through when the wind towers were installed. Clerk Marsicek will contact Marshall County and schedule a meeting with Commissioner Bramhall and their Road and Bridge Administrator.

• Robbins is researching a 2nd engineer to review the bridge located at L-29.21 for necessary updates to return the weight limit to the original limitations when it was built.

Permission was granted for Raymond Raney to attend the Fall Kansas APCO Conference meeting in Manhattan, Kansas from November 8 to November 10, 2021.

Commissioner Jeardoe reported that Sharon Segerhammer's term as Pawnee Mental Health board member will expire on December 31, 2021 and the commissioners need to appoint a replacement. Also, Commissioner Jeardoe announced that his appointment as alternate board member would expire on December 31, 2021. He agreed to fill that position for another term. Commissioner Splichal made a motion to re-appoint Commissioner Jeardoe as the alternate Pawnee Mental Health board member. Commissioner Garman seconded the motion. Commissioner Jeardoe abstained. Motion passed.

Mike Hadachek, Astra Bank, and Justin Ferrell, County Attorney, presented the mortgage forms for signature allowing the Republic County Hospital to be used as collateral for the remodeling needed at the hospital.

Commissioner Jeardoe made a motion to approve the mortgage. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Commissioner Garman made it unanimous.

At 11:22 a.m., Commissioner Garman made a motion to enter and executive session for 10 minutes to discuss an attorney/client information pertaining to the windfarm project. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion which was made unanimous by Commissioner Jeardoe. Attending the session were the commissioners, Ferrell and Clerk Marsicek. Commissioner Splichal requested an additional 5 minutes.

The board reconvened at 11:37 a.m., taking no action.

Susan Aaron, LEPC member, announced that there would be a LEPC quarterly meeting at noon on November 18 in the commissioner's board room.

Kay Shoemaker left a message that there would not be an RCD meeting in November.

Clerk Marsicek presented information from the employee insurance group suggesting that the commissioners agree to reduce the employee share of health insurance premium since Republic County's 2022 insurance rates will decrease. Since this is the second year the county's premium has decreased, the consensus of the commissioners is to reduce the employee's premium to meet the amount of the decrease of the annual insurance.

At 11:45 a.m., Commissioner Garman made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Splichal seconded the motion. Commissioner Jeardoe made it unanimous.

The next regular meeting will be on Monday, November 15, 2021 beginning at 8:30 a.m. at the Republic County Courthouse.

ATTEST: _____ Kathleen L. Marsicek, Republic County Clerk APPROVED:

Melvin Jeardoe – Chair

Edwin Splichal – Member

Doug Garman – Member